Posted on: March 2, 2021 Posted by: admin Comments: 0

first_imgMiles Davis just recently celebrated what would-have-been his 90th birthday, and some incredible artists have been putting their hearts and souls into paying tribute. Perhaps the biggest tribute was the Miles Ahead biopic, with Don Cheadle as the writer, director, and starring actor. The soundtrack of the film was composed by Robert Glasper, who subsequently announced a unique tribute album of his own. Titled Everything’s Beautiful, the album finds Glasper reworking original recordings from Miles Davis with some contemporary peers. A number of extraordinary musicians make appearances on the new release, including J Dilla sibling Illa J, Erykah Badu, Hiatus Kaiyote, John Scofield, Ledisi, Stevie Wonder and more. The interpretations are far-ranging on the album, including a hip-hop “They Can’t Hold Me Down” w/ Illa J and a soulful jazzy blend for “Right On Brotha” with Stevie Wonder.One true musical connection to Davis himself is through guitarist John Scofield, a living jazz legend who has collaborated with everyone from Herbie Hancock to Jaco Pastorius and beyond. Probably best known within the jam scene as a regular contributor with Medeski Martin & Wood, Scofield was a member of Davis’ band for three albums from 1982-1985. His work on “I’m Leaving You” is inspired, especially with vocal contributions from Ledisi.Fortunately you can stream the full album below, through Spotify.Everything’s Beautiful Track List: 1. “Talking Shit”2. “Ghetto Walkin” featuring Bilal3. “They Can’t Hold Me Down” featuring Illa J4. “Maiysha (So Long)” featuring Erykah Badu5. “Violets” featuring Phonte6. “Little Church” featuring Hiatus Kaiyote7. “Silence Is The Way” featuring Laura Mvula8. “Song For Selim” featuring KING9. “Milestones” featuring Georgia Ann Muldrow10. “I’m Leaving You” featuring John Scofield and Ledisi11. “Right On Brotha” featuring Stevie Wonderlast_img

Leave a Comment